Making Miso in Melbourne (Vol.3)

CIMG9432

I use Miso a lot in my cooking, so I’m in danger that actually running out of my Miso!!
Urgently need to prepare Miso for next summer and winter.

Unfortunately, I don’t have big pot!
(I used to use my roomy’s. Since I moved to new house, I need whole lots of cooking staff!!)
This is essential to use big pot for making miso, but unfortunately I don’t have one.
Therefore, I used 500g of Soybeans only today. Little portion.

This is today’s Miso recipe.
Normally I put more Koji than Soybeans, but today I used same portion of Soy & Koji.

This is for 2kg of Miso paste
-Organic Soy beans 500g (Grown in Australia – bought at Terra Madre)
-Koji (Dried) 500g (Imported Koji from Japan, bought at Fuji Mart)
-Natural Sea salt 215g (From New Zealand – bought at Terra Madre)

I bought Koji in Australia first time!

CIMG9446
Not sure about taste, but this was the only one I can get from shop.
It is always interesting to use new Koji. Each koji tastes different.

CIMG9443As usual, soak soybean over night (recommended to soak more than 18 hours), and get rid of some not good soybeans.

CIMG9435

Then start cooking soybeans.

CIMG9441

CIMG9443

Mmmm, I really need to buy big pot now.
Boiled over easily. (Maybe I did 10 times!!)

Keep cooking keep cooking until soybeans become really soft.

CIMG9445

While cooking soybeans, prepare Koji & salt.
At first, pour some warm water into Koji (120cc) then mixed.
This is to make dried Koji to refresh.

CIMG9453

Then add salt and mix them well.

CIMG9456

CIMG9458

Isn’t this salt green?
Why green?
Mmmm. It said, “Natural sea salt from New Zealand, dried naturally under the sun”.
Looks so green. Well, let’s see how this salt works on my Miso!

OK- when soybeans become very soft, fun time starts.
Put the soybeans into the bag,

CIMG9466

and…make them into the paste!! Any style is OK~.

CIMG9469

CIMG9473

or by hand like this!
CIMG9475

Once it become paste, put them into the bog bowl (I need bigger bowl!),
then mixed with Koji&Salt which you prepared before.

CIMG9480

CIMG9485

Mix really well. Use your hands!!

CIMG9492

CIMG9494

I added some soybeans boiled water if you like softer paste.

CIMG9506

Then~, making miso paste balls.

CIMG9510

CIMG9520

Put all the miso paste balls into your container.
Make sure no air inside, and make the top flat.

CIMG9522

CIMG9525

Spread some salt on top then cover.

CIMG9527

CIMG9528

Put “salt weight” on top of that,

CIMG9530

Then it’s done! Miso for next summer.

CIMG9535

But this is just 2 kg of Miso paste.
Need to prepare more!! so more reports will come 😛

4 thoughts on “Making Miso in Melbourne (Vol.3)

  1. I made my first miso on Feb 26, 2014. It’s almost a month now and I just realized that the surface has lots of mold. Should I threw it the whole bottle away? What should I do now? Scrape out the mold from the surface?

    • Congratulation on your first miso!
      Just take out all the mold. You can keep the rest. No worries.
      Place the salt or Shotcu on the surface. It will be OK.

      I don’t know where you are, but if you are in Aus, it is better to make miso in winter.
      It is better to keep it in cold place in first few months, so if you have to make it in summer, it is an idea to put it in the fridge at the first stage. Just some tip for your next challenge.

    • The fermented periods are different from Miso type.
      Shiro-miso (White miso) needs only 1-2 weeks.
      My miso needs more than 6 months to 1 year.
      There are 2-year, 3-year fermentation miso as well.
      It is an interesting world.

Leave a Reply

