Making Miso in Melbourne (Vol.4)

What are these?

CIMG0277

Yes!
These are Miso balls.
This is one of the Miso making step. ( I have to tell you, it’s fun !)

This weekend, I made Miso again.
(Since our Miso consumption is quite high pace, I probably need to make few more times !)

This time, I wanted to try new method,
which is to steam soybeans, not to boil.

This is steamed soybeans. Looks darker than boiled one.
CIMG0263

I wanted to know how the taste would be difference from boiled soybeans Miso.
Therefore, I used all same ingredients as “Making Miso In Melbourne (Vol.3).

By the way, you can see some rainbow colour in my photos today.
It is from my cristal ball by the window. (Today was nice sunny day♪)
It is not mold or anything, so don’t worry.

Rice Koji
CIMG0252

CIMG0253

Since this is dried Rice Koji, pour some water.
CIMG0254

Add salt.
CIMG0256

Mix well. Set aside.
CIMG0257

Now mash the soybeans while soybeans are still warm.
CIMG0268

Make it paste, just like this.
CIMG0269

All soybeans become paste. Yeah !!
CIMG0271

Add previously mixed Rice Koji and salt into soybean paste.
CIMG0273

Then mix well !! More, more !!
CIMG0275

After it was mixed well, make Miso balls with the paste.
Try to get rid of air from miso paste.
This step is similar to the pottery, I think.
CIMG0276

Here is another first trial for me.
I am going to use “plastic bag” to store the miso, not using container.
Spread some salt in the bag.
CIMG0285

Then fill with the miso balls.
CIMG0286

Try not to have air inside.
CIMG0290

CIMG0298

CIMG0299

CIMG0302

Spread some salt on the surface before closing the bag.
CIMG0309

Seal it then complete of Miso making!
Write the date before forgetting.
I am already excited to see how it is going to be in 6 months !!
CIMG0315

Oh, the bit of green thing on the miso is salt! This natural salt is somehow little bit greenish.

Leave a Reply

