Making Miso in Melbourne (Vol.5)

CIMG0707

This is my fermentation area in my house and I added today’s miso here.

Today, I prepared miso again.
Today’s rice koji is this from Japan. Dried.
CIMG0678

Soybeans were steamed, same as last time. Making Miso in Melbourne (Vol.4).
CIMG0265

But I forgot to prepare salt !!! Oh No.
This was the only salt I’ve got at home…..
Suffering if I should I use or not?
CIMG0680

mmmm
It must be too big for making miso.
mmmm
but I want to make miso today….

OK, Let’s try!!
I poured warm water then made salted water, but this salt wasn’t be melted completely.
Oh well. I just need to try making miso with this condition.

CIMG0682

So first, mash steamed soybeans.
CIMG0685

I used bowl, but wasn’t easy to mash soybeans,
so ended up using Japanese cone‐shaped mortar.
Very easy to mash soybeans.

CIMG0688

When you finished mash all of soybeans, then mix with salted rice koji.

CIMG0691

CIMG0693

Then mix well until like this.
CIMG0694

Now you make balls to get rid of air from mixture.
Also next step become easier if you make balls.
CIMG0697

Use plastic bag to store miso again.
CIMG0699

Put the balls in the bag, try to get rid of all the air from the bag.
CIMG0700

Seal it. Write date so that you don’t forget when you made it.
CIMG0703

Waiting to be fermented for another 6 months at least !!

Leave a Reply

