Shio-Koji Daikon Steak !

CIMG3404
This is really good.
If you have Shio-Koji, please try.
Daikon(White radish) become so sweet and so juicy in just few steps.
It might be my favorite Daikon dish.

Step 1: Cut Daikon.
CIMG3345

I used only upper part, because this part is sweeter than lower part.
CIMG3347

Cut into about 2cm – 3 cm.
CIMG3348

Step 2: Steam them first.
If you have steamer, you can use it.
I don’t have it, so I used normal pan with bit of water.
CIMG3349

CIMG3367

CIMG3382

Step 3 : Prepare marinade sauce. Only 2 ingredients.
Shio-Koji & Soy Sauce.

Shio-Koji (2 table spoons)
CIMG3385

Add soy sauce (2 tea spoons)
CIMG3386

CIMG3388

Then mix well.
CIMG3389

Step 4 : Marinade Daikon with this shio-koji soy sauce.

CIMG3390

CIMG3391

Step 5 : Pan grill them!!

CIMG3411

For both side until it become golden.
CIMG3399

That’s all. Easy huh?
It’s worth trying. Really yummy. Hope you enjoy this Daikon Steak!!
CIMG3402

CIMG3406

5 thoughts on “Shio-Koji Daikon Steak !

  1. I have never ate a White Radish before, although I often sees it at the market.I’ll try to make this dish (without fail this time,for sure! ) 🙂 Wish me luck! I have 2 questions,just incase :

    1)Do I have to steam the white radish until the texture goes all soft?
    2)How long I have to marinade the white radish with the shiokaji+soy sauce?

    And,like always thank you for the recipe 🙂

    • Daikon is very easy to cook. You can eat raw as salad, too.
      It is crispy when you eat it raw.

      For your question, here is what I think.
      1) Yes, steam Daikon until they become soft.
      When it steamed, the colour of Daikon will change. It become CLEAR white.
      2) Just few minutes is fine.

      Hope your first Daikon dish goes well!!

  2. Wow, I can’t wait to try this, sounds SO good! I grew a bunch of daikon in my garden this year and this recipe and your tahini daikon salad will be perfect. 🙂

    • Oh, yes. It is SO good for sure. It’s not heavy but become beautiful main dish.
      Wow-, so good to have own daikon in the garden.
      Enjoy cooking with your veggies.

Leave a Reply

