Barley Miso is ready !!

10987725_10200542222395504_7533607901590430885_o

Barley Miso I made this January, is already bringing us so good aroma.
It seems like ready already!!

Barley Miso’s ingredients are simple as well as Rice Miso.

Soybeans
Salt
Barley Koji.

CIMG2419
CIMG1750

This is Barley koji and salt. Mixed.

Cook soybeans until it become really soft,
CIMG1751

then mash it. This time I used roller pin.
CIMG1752
I sometimes use Suhibachi, sometimes mashed by hands.
I enjoy all different methods.

Make balls.
CIMG8721

And put them into the jar.
CIMG1762

CIMG1781

Look how dark the colour is already.
Smells really good in the room.
Taste sweet. (Not sweet like chocolate!! of course!!)
CIMG1877

Oh, I love making miso.

4 thoughts on “Barley Miso is ready !!

  1. Konban Wa Happa, having just got back from a holiday in Japan, you have inspired me to make my own miso. I found another supplier for Koji near my work, not sure if it is a good brand or not. Could you tell me where you bought your Barley koji? I am looking for non-gmo soybeans, if i find some big ones I will let you know. Thanks for a wonderful blog, I appreciate it a greta deal, regards Mark http://ichibajunction.com.au/products/detail.php?product_id=998006476

    • Hi Mark, thanks for your comment!!
      The brand’s rice koji is most popular one in Japanese super market, I guess. (at least Kanto area)
      It is mass produced one, so you can find it almost any supermarkets, which is great
      I personally support handmade one (just because it is good to support someone who try to continue traditional method),
      but my mum likes the brand because it has no strong flavour:-)

Leave a Reply

